
Health Insurance for OFW Family in the Philippines (2026): PhilHealth, HMO & Prepaid Cards
Quick Answer: As an OFW member, PhilHealth automatically covers your spouse and children as dependents, but parents under 60 do not qualify automatically — they only become eligible at 60+, and only if they pass an income test. To close that gap, MediCard's OFW-built Kabayan plan lets you sponsor coverage for relatives in the Philippines from ₱16,524 to ₱38,610/year per person, age-loaded up to 70. Maxicare and PhilCare also sell family HMO plans and prepaid cards, with prices from under ₱1,000/year for limited consult-only cards.
About this guide: The PhilHealth dependent rules below come directly from PhilHealth's own qualified-dependents page, philhealth.gov.ph, as of September 2026. HMO prices for MediCard, Maxicare, and PhilCare are pulled from each company's own published rate cards on their official sites (kabayan.medicardphils.com, medicardphils.com, maxicare.com.ph, shop.philcare.com.ph), also checked in September 2026. Government dependent rules and private HMO pricing both change without much notice — confirm current terms directly with PhilHealth or the HMO before you pay for anything. Last checked: September 2026.
Table of Contents
- Are My Parents Automatically Covered by PhilHealth?
- Are My Spouse and Kids Automatically Covered?
- Why PhilHealth Alone Usually Isn't Enough
- MediCard Kabayan: The Plan Built for OFWs Sponsoring Family in PH
- What Do Maxicare's Family Plans Cost?
- What Does MediCard's Regular Family Coverage Cost?
- Is PhilCare a Better Fit for Aging Parents?
- Prepaid Health Cards: A Cheaper Middle Ground
- Are Intellicare or Cocolife Options?
- Age Caps and Pre-Existing Conditions — The Real Deciding Factors
- Paying and Enrolling From Abroad
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Conclusion
Are My Parents Automatically Covered by PhilHealth?
No — not if they're under 60. PhilHealth's qualified-dependents rule is specific: a member's parents only become eligible dependents once they turn 60 or older, and even then it isn't unconditional. At 60+, a parent must also not be an enrolled PhilHealth member in their own right, and must fall under an income threshold PhilHealth sets under the National Health Insurance Act. A parent under 60 who doesn't meet those conditions simply isn't a covered dependent, no matter how long you've been paying contributions.
One separate exception, at any age: a parent PhilHealth determines has a permanent disability making them "totally dependent on the member for subsistence" can qualify regardless of age — a specific medical/legal determination, not something you self-certify.
This is the most common misunderstanding OFWs have about their PhilHealth coverage, and exactly why many end up shopping for a private HMO for their parents. See our PhilHealth vs. HMO comparison for how the two systems actually stack up.
Are My Spouse and Kids Automatically Covered?
Yes. Your legal spouse and your children (unmarried, unemployed, and under the standard dependent age limit, or with a qualifying disability) are automatically qualified dependents under your PhilHealth membership as an OFW — no income test, no age-60 gate. This coverage already exists the moment you're an active, contributing OFW member (see our PhilHealth OFW contribution guide if you're unsure your payments are current) — it just doesn't extend to parents under 60 the same way.
If you need to formally register a spouse or child who isn't yet listed under your PhilHealth records — a common gap when a member never updated their file after marriage or a birth — the process is a straightforward member update, not a new application. Walk through the documentary requirements in our guide to adding PhilHealth dependents before you assume a dependent is already on file just because they should be.
Why PhilHealth Alone Usually Isn't Enough
Even where PhilHealth does apply, it's a case-rate system with fixed payouts per diagnosis — not built to cover a private room, a full diagnostic workup, or an extended confinement the way a private HMO does. The gap is sharpest for parents: if they're under 60 and don't qualify as dependents, PhilHealth offers them zero coverage unless they're separately enrolled as members in their own right.
That's the real decision an OFW is making: not whether to replace PhilHealth, but whether to add a private HMO or prepaid card on top of it — for a spouse and kids who want faster access than PhilHealth alone, and especially for parents who fall outside its dependent rules entirely.
MediCard Kabayan: The Plan Built for OFWs Sponsoring Family in PH
Most HMO products in the Philippines are designed around a PH-based principal member. MediCard's Kabayan line, run on its own site at kabayan.medicardphils.com, is built the other way around: an overseas Filipino is the "sponsor" (the payor), and the people getting the actual health card are relatives in the Philippines — who don't even have to be immediate family. MediCard's own description says a sponsor can enroll "practically everyone."
| Plan | Individual rate, age 30–60 | Age 61–65 | Age 66–70 | Benefit limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White (Plan 700) | ₱16,524/yr | ₱22,356/yr | ₱30,672/yr | ₱60,000 |
| Blue (Plan 1500) | ₱24,948/yr | ₱32,508/yr | ₱42,533.56/yr | ₱100,000 |
| Purple (Plan 3000) | ₱38,610/yr | ₱50,166/yr | ₱61,776/yr | ₱150,000 |
Source: kabayan.medicardphils.com/Home/Rates, checked September 2026.
Family pricing under Purple runs ₱60,264/year for a family of 2, ₱73,602 for a family of 3, ₱86,886 for a family of 4, and about ₱13,338/year per additional member. Coverage spans hospitalization, outpatient care, preventive checkups, emergency treatment, and dental. MediCard's own FAQ says pre-existing conditions are "covered up to a certain limit," though the peso cap isn't published — ask MediCard directly for the figure before assuming a specific condition is covered.
One honest flag: Kabayan's FAQ states the plan is for beneficiaries "30 days old and up to 60 years," but the same site's rate card publishes explicit pricing for ages 61–65 and 66–70 — a contradiction the FAQ text hasn't caught up with. If you're enrolling a parent near or past 60, confirm directly with MediCard which limit actually applies before you pay.
Enrollment doesn't require a trip home: a sponsor fills out an online form or emails the Kabayan team, lists the beneficiaries' names, and pays — MediCard processes and ships the cards. Coverage typically starts the 1st of the following month or the 16th of the current month, depending on when you apply. See our MediCard plans and prices guide for MediCard's non-OFW lineup.
What Do Maxicare's Family Plans Cost?
Maxicare doesn't run a dedicated OFW-sponsor product the way MediCard does, but its MyMaxicare plan supports a "Family Account" with an explicit "add dependent" flow under one principal, and its enrollment guidelines list parents as an eligible dependent category for an unmarried principal (spouse and children, for a married one). What isn't spelled out on Maxicare's own pages is whether the paying sponsor can be based abroad while a PH-resident relative is the enrolled principal — confirm that specific arrangement with a Maxicare agent rather than assuming it works the same way Kabayan does.
MyMaxicare itself is quote-only and age-based rather than a flat rate card, with tiers from Silver to Platinum Plus differing by room type and a maximum benefit limit of ₱100,000–₱250,000. Get an exact quote through Maxicare's own plan estimate tool rather than a third-party number, since it varies by age and tier.
Where Maxicare does publish fixed prices is its cheaper PRIMA line — consult-focused prepaid cards rather than full hospitalization HMO plans:
| Plan | Price (2026) | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| PRIMA Consult | ₱999/yr | Unlimited consults across 19 specialties, one annual physical exam, discounted labs/imaging/vaccines, up to ₱20,000 personal accident insurance |
| PRIMA Access | ₱9,999/yr | Consults plus broader access (see Maxicare's own plan page for full inclusions) |
| PRIMA Elite | ₱19,999/yr | Consults plus diagnostics |
| LifesavER | ₱2,299/yr | Outpatient emergency treatment up to ₱25,000, plus ₱50,000 life/AD&D |
| LifesavER+ | ₱6,999/yr | Emergencies up to ₱50,000 including confinement in a regular private room, up to 12 teleconsults |
Source: maxicare.com.ph, checked September 2026. For the full lineup and eligibility notes, see our Maxicare plans and prices guide.
What Does MediCard's Regular Family Coverage Cost?
Outside of Kabayan, MediCard's standard consumer plans also let a principal add dependents, priced per additional person rather than as a flat family fee.
| Plan | Principal only | +1 dependent | +2 dependents |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard (no premium hospitals) | ₱10,739–₱12,049/yr | ₱19,468–₱22,688/yr | ₱28,696–₱33,769/yr |
| Standard (with premium hospitals) | ₱18,850–₱21,908/yr | ₱34,133–₱39,625/yr | ₱50,315–₱57,428/yr |
| VIP (Regular Private room) | ₱25,379/yr | ₱45,908/yr | ₱67,649/yr |
Source: medicardphils.com/healthcare-programs, checked September 2026. Ranges reflect the age bracket of the person being enrolled — get an exact quote for the specific age before comparing plans.
VIP adds a 3rd dependent for ₱88,266, a 4th for ₱111,131, and roughly ₱22,517 per additional person after that — and it carries an age-loaded rate for a principal aged 61–65 (₱32,993/yr), confirming enrollment is possible past 60 even without a stated hard ceiling. Full details and lower-tier prepaid options are in our MediCard plans and prices guide.
Is PhilCare a Better Fit for Aging Parents?
If the person you're covering is already 60 or older, PhilCare's VidaCare line is worth a look specifically because it's built around that age group rather than treating seniors as an edge case.
| Plan | Price (2026) | Age eligibility | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| VidaCare Premiere | ₱13,270/yr | Minimum age 60, no stated maximum | Unlimited consults (family medicine, internal medicine, GP, cardiology, nephrology, pulmonology, gastroenterology) plus dental, unlimited outpatient labs at PhilCare-owned clinics, and a single-use ₱20,000 outpatient emergency benefit (stroke excluded) |
| VidaCare CORE | ₱11,120/yr | Minimum age 60, no stated maximum | Same consult and lab structure as Premiere, without the emergency benefit |
Source: shop.philcare.com.ph, checked September 2026.
Both VidaCare plans explicitly cover pre-existing conditions, excluding behavioral, psychiatric, and developmental disorders — a meaningfully different rule from PhilCare's emergency and hospitalization products, which exclude pre-existing conditions outright. Don't assume PhilCare's pre-existing-condition policy is uniform across its lineup, because it isn't.
PhilCare's own FAQ also confirms a general buy-for-someone-else flow — plans can be "given as a gift to your loved ones," registered on another person's behalf as long as you have their personal details on hand. That's not OFW-specific language the way Kabayan's is, but it covers the same need. See our PhilCare plans and prices guide for PhilCare's full lineup.
Prepaid Health Cards: A Cheaper Middle Ground
If a full HMO plan is more than a family member needs — a healthy adult sibling who mostly wants access to affordable consults, say — prepaid cards are the cheaper option. Maxicare's PRIMA Consult (₱999/yr) and MediCard's Health Plus (₱1,545/yr) and RxER (₱2,378/yr) are fixed annual prices, limited to consults or emergency-only cover rather than full hospitalization. They're a reasonable stopgap for a family member PhilHealth doesn't cover and full HMO pricing doesn't fit yet — just know they don't replace hospitalization coverage the way Kabayan, Standard, or VidaCare do.
Are Intellicare or Cocolife Options?
Not really, for this specific use case. Both sell primarily corporate plans and publish no individual prices on their own sites: Intellicare's enrollment process is built around corporate RFPs requiring a registered business and a minimum employee count, with no retail individual or family product found on its site. Cocolife's individual-insurance line includes a life-and-health hybrid product, but that's a variable life insurance policy with a health rider bundled in — not a standalone annual HMO health card the way Maxicare, MediCard, or PhilCare sell one. Neither company currently has a comparable retail product to shop against the three above.
Age Caps and Pre-Existing Conditions — The Real Deciding Factors
Price is rarely what actually disqualifies a parent from a plan — age caps and pre-existing condition rules are. Check both before you compare prices across HMOs.
| HMO / Plan | Entry age limit | Pre-existing conditions |
|---|---|---|
| MediCard Kabayan | FAQ says up to 60; rate card prices to 70 (unresolved contradiction — confirm directly) | "Covered up to a certain limit" (cap not published) |
| MediCard Standard/VIP | No published hard ceiling; VIP has an explicit 61–65 pricing tier | Not stated on MediCard's plan pages |
| Maxicare MyMaxicare | Not available past 60 years, 5 months | Not confirmed on Maxicare's site for this plan |
| Maxicare PRIMA Consult | Open to all ages for the base consult plan | Not stated |
| PhilCare VidaCare Premiere/CORE | Minimum age 60, no maximum stated | Covered (behavioral/psychiatric/developmental disorders excluded) |
| PhilCare emergency/hospitalization plans | Varies by plan | Explicitly excluded |
A plan that looks cheap on price but caps entry below your parent's current age, or excludes the exact condition they already have, isn't actually an option — confirm both numbers with the HMO in writing before you commit to a year's premium. Our guide to choosing an HMO in the Philippines walks through the same checklist in more depth.
Paying and Enrolling From Abroad
Every plan here can be paid for and, in most cases, started without a trip home. MediCard Kabayan is built for this specifically — apply online or by email and pay from abroad while MediCard processes the cards for beneficiaries already in the Philippines. Maxicare's MyMaxicare enrollment tools are web-based, though confirm with an agent whether an overseas payor can be the account holder for a PH-resident principal. PhilCare's shop.philcare.com.ph explicitly supports registering a plan in someone else's name as a gift, as long as you have their personal details on hand.
None of these require you to be physically in the Philippines to pay the premium. What they do require is the beneficiary's basic information — full name, birthdate, valid ID — and sometimes a health declaration on their behalf for full HMO plans. Confirm the exact document list with the HMO before starting the application, since requirements differ slightly between a gift/sponsor enrollment and a standard individual sign-up.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are my parents automatically PhilHealth dependents once I'm a paying OFW member?
Only if they're 60 or older, and even then only if they also meet an income threshold and aren't already covered as PhilHealth members in their own right. Parents under 60 are not automatic dependents, aside from a separate disability-based exception PhilHealth evaluates case by case.
Can I add my spouse and children as PhilHealth dependents from abroad?
Your legal spouse and qualifying children are already automatic dependents once you're an active OFW member. If they aren't showing up correctly in PhilHealth's records, update your member data rather than filing a fresh application — see our guide to adding PhilHealth dependents for the documents involved.
What is MediCard Kabayan and who can enroll?
Kabayan is MediCard's OFW-specific product: an overseas Filipino sponsors and pays for a health card, while relatives (not necessarily immediate family) in the Philippines are the enrolled beneficiaries. Rates run from ₱16,524/year (White plan) to ₱38,610/year (Purple plan) per person, before age-loading.
Is MediCard Kabayan's age limit 60 or 70?
MediCard's Kabayan FAQ states beneficiaries must be "30 days old and up to 60 years," but the same site's rate card publishes explicit pricing for ages 61–65 and 66–70, which only makes sense if enrollment past 60 is actually allowed. The two pages contradict each other — confirm directly with MediCard which limit applies before enrolling a parent near or past 60.
How much does an HMO for my parents cost per year?
It depends heavily on age and plan tier. MediCard Kabayan starts at ₱16,524/year at ages 30–60 and rises to ₱30,672–₱61,776/year for ages 66–70 depending on the plan. PhilCare's senior-focused VidaCare plans, built specifically for age 60+, run ₱11,120–₱13,270/year. MediCard's regular Standard plan with one added dependent runs roughly ₱19,468–₱39,625/year depending on hospital tier.
Can I pay for an HMO plan in the Philippines while I'm working abroad?
Yes. MediCard Kabayan, Maxicare's online tools, and PhilCare's shop.philcare.com.ph all support paying online from anywhere, with the health card or plan enrolled under a relative's name in the Philippines. Confirm the exact document requirements with each provider before starting the application.
Do HMO plans cover pre-existing conditions for older parents?
It varies by plan, not by company as a whole. PhilCare's senior-focused VidaCare plans cover pre-existing conditions (excluding behavioral, psychiatric, and developmental disorders), while PhilCare's own emergency and hospitalization plans exclude them outright. MediCard Kabayan says pre-existing conditions are covered "up to a certain limit," without publishing the exact cap — ask MediCard directly for the peso figure before enrolling someone with a known condition.
Are Intellicare and Cocolife options for buying individual coverage for my family?
Not really. Intellicare sells only corporate/group plans requiring a registered business, with no retail individual product published on its site. Cocolife's individual-insurance line includes a life insurance policy with a health rider, which is a different product from a standalone annual HMO health card — neither publishes an individual HMO price comparable to Maxicare, MediCard, or PhilCare.
What's the difference between a prepaid health card and a full HMO plan?
A prepaid card, like Maxicare's PRIMA Consult (₱999/yr) or MediCard's Health Plus (₱1,545/yr), is a fixed low-cost product limited mostly to consults, basic diagnostics, or emergency-only treatment. A full HMO plan (MediCard Standard/VIP, MyMaxicare, PhilCare VidaCare) costs more but adds hospitalization coverage, a benefit limit for confinement, and broader outpatient access. Prepaid cards work as a lower-cost stopgap, not a replacement for hospitalization coverage.
Conclusion
The gap most OFWs miss is a rule most people never read closely: parents under 60 simply aren't automatic PhilHealth dependents, and even at 60+ there's an income test attached. Once you know that, the real decision is which private option fills the gap. MediCard's Kabayan line is the only plan built for an overseas sponsor paying for PH-based relatives, PhilCare's VidaCare line fits better once the person is already 60 or older, and Maxicare's cheaper PRIMA cards suit a healthy family member who mainly needs consult access. Check the age cap and the pre-existing condition rule before you compare prices — those two lines in the fine print decide more plans than the premium does.
For a broader shortlist of HMOs beyond the three covered here, see our best HMO in the Philippines guide or our rundown of individual HMO plans in the Philippines. And when you're ready to find a clinic or hospital in your family's network, head to /search to look one up by location.